Well Equipped

Never deny the insignificant things.  I had an experience today that reminds me just how amazing God is.  The experience reminded me that God may use any event, even the ones we see as insignificant or inconvenient for His purpose.  Okay, so let maybe I should go back and explain a little bit more.  It’s Saturday, my wife is out of town for the weekend at a family funeral so birthday party duty fell to me today.  My 4 year old son and I went out the day before and picked out the present which is a story in itself since it is for a 5 year old girl.  We wrapped the present Saturday, got all ready to go to the party at the YMCA and headed out into the car.  About 2 miles I realize that, like the typical guy I am, I had put everything into the car except the all important present.  So, back home we headed.  As we approached the intersection about a half-a-mile from home, I watched in astonishment as a red SUV blew the stop sign, T-boning the SUV directly in front of me rolling it all the way onto the driver’s side.  It was one of those times were everything seems to suddenly slow down.  I couldn’t believe what I had just witnessed.  Immediately, my emergency First Responder training took over.  I told my son to stay put and headed to the overturned SUV dialing 911 on the way.  The driver of the SUV that had been hit was trapped in the car but didn’t have any injuries.  I was able to make my way into the vehicle from the back and spent about 15 minutes in the vehicle talking with the driver and trying to keep her calm while we waited for EMS to arrive.  A few other witnesses had stopped and were also doing their best to help.  At one point while in “rescue mode” I remembered that my son was still in the car and thankfully, one of the other witnesses went to check on him for me.

The reason I was so blown away by the accident was not that I had seen it happen, but the circumstances surrounding my presence there.  I could have remembered the present, headed straight to the birthday party and never even would have known the accident had taken place.  Instead, I believe God used the insignificant present as a way to place me where he would need me at that moment.  Rescue training is not something that is easily forgotten, although I haven’t been a part of a rescue team for over 10 years, it is more reflex than conscious thought.  God knew the skill set I had been trained with and knew the accident would happen.  I’m sure he could have used someone else but he needed me to learn a lesson and be able to see myself in light of this situation.  I need to remember that God has equipped me for the challenges in my life.  I need to trust in the training just the same as I trust in my rescue training.

Hebrews 13: 21 says, may Christ “equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him…” Thank you God for the skills you have equipped me with so that I can do your will here on Earth.

2 thoughts on “Well Equipped

  1. This is a great story, thanks for sharing it. It’s wonderful when we gain an awareness of God’s ever-present acts in our life, and the ways in which he prepares us in advance for the work he wants us to do. Good job rising to the opportunity this day presented! You set a good example for your son and I’m sure the experience provided some great conversations between you about God and faith. 🙂

  2. Wesley,

    Thanks for the comment. It is one of my favorite feelings when I realize how God’s plan for something and how I fit. As scary as this situation was at the time, it will always be there as a reminder of God’s purpose in my life and the joy that brings me.

Leave a Reply

