Change the World

 

Change the World

“Children are a heritage from the Lord, offspring are a reward from Him.”

Psalm 127:3

My son is going to change the world.  I can already see it now.  I see it in the way he sings worship songs in the car.  I see it when he wants to lead others.  I know he is only 4 years old, but I can already tell that God has a plan for his life.  That to me is one of the coolest yet scariest parts of being a father.  God has trusted me to raise my son up in a manner that will point him to Christ so that his life can be used by God.  That is a pretty big challenge.  I know that my son will face many unknown task throughout his life.  I can’t even imagine what he will have to overcome.  Yet as his Dad, I am tasked to prepare him for these challenges.  Even scarier still is that I will be held accountable for him.  Hebrews 13:17 says “Have confidence in your leaders and submit to their authority, because they keep watch over you as those who must give an account.”  Now part of that verse is for my son, but it’s the second half that gets me. “…Those who must give an account.” I must give an account for my son when I stand before God.  If I stopped here, I would think that all is lost.  How could I, with all of my own faults and short comings, ever lead my son down a path of righteousness?  If I were doing this alone, then the task would be impossible.  I guess it’s a good thing I’m not alone.  I can take comfort knowing that Christ is with me the whole time.  He helps me guide my son.  In fact, my son is a reward from Him.  “Children are a heritage from the Lord, offspring a reward from Him.” (Psalm 127:3) God trusts me enough that He rewarded me with a son.  He actually has rewarded me with two sons!  God must think pretty highly of me to entrust me with their lives.  He knows that I will look to Him for help.  He knows that my goal as Dad is to point them to the life He wants for them.  He knows that I want them to be World changers, that His goals are my goals.  My son is going to change the world.  All I have to do is keep pointing him in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

