You Are Important

The Lost Sheep

“What do you think? If a man owns a hundred sheep, and one of them wanders away, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the hills and go to look for the one that wandered off? And if he finds it, truly I tell you, he is happier about that one sheep than about the ninety-nine that did not wander off. In the same way your Father in heaven is not willing that any of these little ones should perish.”

Matthew 18:12-14

I am trying to think of a modern day example to this parable but at the moment it eludes me.  Jesus told parables so that the people he talked to could relate to what he was saying.  It is an old teacher trick, you  make your content relavent so your students can relate personally to what you have to say.  The only problem is that today, I don’t think we keep the same passion that the sheppards or towns-people did back in Jesus’s day.  Everything we have is disposable.  Most of us don’t tend to things where it is important to have every piece.  If we loose something, it can be replaced.  To God, we are not disposable.  We are an irreplacable part of His plan.  Jesus says that the sheppard (God) would leave the ninety-nine sheep to go find the one that has wandered off.  He’s not really talking about sheep here, He’s talking about us.  We are that one that wanders.  It is comforting to know that God values me so much that He would go searching for me.  He searches even when I don’t want to be found.  And when He finds me (or rather, when I lift up my eyes and see that He has been there all along), He rejoices.  The Bible says in Luke 15:10 that the angles rejoice when one sinner repents.  They throw a party when one lost sheep is found.  You are not disposable, you are an irreplacable to God. I take comfort in knowing that I am that valuable to Him.

2 thoughts on “You Are Important

  1. What a great post! Thank you for taking your faith and putting it out there for all to read. God bless you!! I try and do the same with my blog. Making Christianity applicable to all can be tough. Yet we have One who has supplied us with all we need in His Word. Press on bro! Phil. 3:14

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention You Are Important « The Digital Christian -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

